🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: How to get paid before completing the con...
Page options
6b54facf
Community Member

How to get paid before completing the contract and milestone

Hi there

I'm new to this situation and need your advice I made a contract which is a total of 7 hours of work and two milestones.  

But even before ending the first milestone, I found that this is absolutely more than 7 hours of work. So I asked the client to add another milestone but she is refusing it. Since I submitted the first result I want to get paid for that and end the contract. Is this possible?

And if the contract is ended at the first milestone like in this case, can a freelancer or the client leave a review about each other?

Please share your thoughts.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

14 REPLIES 14
bobafett999
Community Member

No you don't get paid for unfinished work.  That is not professional.  Even if you end the contract without money being exchanged to you, the buyer can leave a private feedback.

Take this as a learning experience.  Next time think carefully in quoting the hours.  Once you start the work and discover that it will take more time stop working and explain the buyer your situation.  If they don;t agree - tough luck.

prestonhunter
Community Member

This means you are not yet ready to accept fixed-price contracts.

Until you have studied the fixed-price contract model more carefully, only accept hourly contracts.

williamtcooper
Community Member

Hey Hyeonsu, the client needs to approve the Milestone before you get paid for that specific Milestone. Once the client approves the Milestone, you can close the Contract, however the client is highly likely to leave a bad Review. It's always better to try to work things out with the client.

Really helping.Thanks for the suggestion.It helps beyond the person who posted it.

starrynightastro
Community Member