🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How to incorporate added scope in the current...
Page options
kc_subodh
Community Member

How to incorporate added scope in the current project?

Hello 

I was working on a website project and after development, they want to add some other scope of work.  
I communicated with them and they agreed that added scope of work will be needed to be compensated. 

My question, how do I update the milestone or how do I send the new offer? 
Please guide. 

Thanks
Subodh.kingcaliber.com

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

If you are working with a fixed-price contract:

And the client wants to add something or change something about a task:

Then as a freelancer, I suggest that you tell them that they have these 4 options:

a) Release all current escrow funds. Close the current contract. Create a new, flexible hourly contract.

b) Release all current escrow funds. Close the current contract. Create a new fixed-price contract to handle the new work.

c) Release all current escrow funds. Add a new, escrow-funded milestone to the current fixed-price contract.

d) Use the "pay bonus" tool to send payment for the additional work; after that, you will do the additional out-of-scope work

The existing contract is not over yet to be closed.there were three milestones, one completed two are remaining. ( the remaining work in the milestone are not the added scope)

Is there no way I can send a new proposal or new offer to the client? 
alternatively, I don't mind getting paid via bonus but again there is no protection on that , is there?

re: "alternatively, I don't mind getting paid via bonus but again there is no protection on that, is there?"

I pointed out that one way a client can pay you is through a bonus.

You are right: There is "no protection" associated with a bonus payment.

Which is why I said you can offer the client to pay you a bonus payment up front. This means: You require the client to pay you the money BEFORE you do the extra work.