🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How to know if a job posting is legit?
Page options
upwork4amy
Community Member

How to know if a job posting is legit?

I am new to upwork. I submitted my proposal for a position. I did get a message back but do not know if legit? Person said interview at a time-no time zone or date? Also they left their phone #.

So how can I tell if I should submit proposals if "not verified".

Thank You,

Amy

10 REPLIES 10
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Amy G wrote:

I am new to upwork. I submitted my proposal for a position. I did get a message back but do not know if legit? Person said interview at a time-no time zone or date? Also they left their phone #.

So how can I tell if I should submit proposals if "not verified".

Thank You,

Amy

Nothing wrong with payment unverified jobs. But as a newbie, better stay away from them for now. You have not been hired, so go to the job posting and flag it for violation (contains contact information). They are not allowed to give you their phone number, or you to call them before hire.

What is the process then? Does someone ask for an interview and how does
that work?

Amy G wrote:
What is the process then? Does someone ask for an interview and how does
that work?

Everything stays on upwork before hire. You can use zoom, messenger, the call function, all on upwork. If a potential client does not want to do that, wish them the best, and stop talking to them. 

Hello Martina. I just want to add that these past few days there are a lot similar job postings that show their contact details specifically WhatsApp number.  Aside from us flagging them as inappropriate, what else can Upwork do so these posts don't occur frequently.

Froilan I wrote:

Hello Martina. I just want to add that these past few days there are a lot similar job postings that show their contact details specifically WhatsApp number.  Aside from us flagging them as inappropriate, what else can Upwork do so these posts don't occur frequently.