🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: How to not agree to future work without r...
Page options
markyz89
Community Member

How to refuse future work without risking a bad review?

So I agreed to a contract I probably shouldn't have.

Designs looked great, and as a web developer I felt it would be a great project for my portfolio. The budget was low though. I decided it was worth it.

It's taken me a lot longer than I expected. The client is pretty demanding. There's constantly small little changes that on their own are too small to be worth mentioning but combined together add up to a lot of time. It almost certainly wasn't worth it.

And now I'm nearly at the end, the client has offerred me more work, at a similar kind of rate.

Obviously I want to run a mile. If it wasn't on Upwork this wouldn't be an issue. But it is Upwork, and I haven't been paid for this job yet, and more importantly I haven't got a review yet.

So basically, does anyone have advice on how to say no without antagonising the client and risking a bad review? Or should I stall until after the contract is finished? Or just...lie?

Thanks in advance, Mark.

2 REPLIES 2
prestonhunter
Community Member

Mark:

You are really unhappy with this particular client.

That is your right. You do NOT need to continue working for the client.

What you are worried about is the current contract.

You should try to get the current contract closed as soon as possible. You can do this gracefully.

You are welcome to discuss future work with the client.

You do NOT need to decide right now that you will not accept a new contract with the client.

If the pay is right, you WILL accept a future contract.

Finish the current contract out. Leave things on a good note.

If the client wants you to do new work, then briefly discuss it with the client and specify the rate that you are available to do the work at. It will be the client's choice whether or not that rate is acceptable.

gilbert-phyllis
Community Member