Reply
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply

How to tell if a job is filled?

rachelhuang2020
Active Member
Rachel H Member Since: Apr 20, 2020
1 of 6

Hello, 

 

I am new here. I submitted my 1st proposal a few days ago. I just saw showing under Job Activity "Hire", number 1 is showing. Does that mean this job is filled? If a job is filled, should the platform not give the option to submit a proposal?

 

Thank you,

 

Rachel

vijayarya01
Active Member
Vijay K Member Since: Apr 19, 2020
2 of 6

Hi, I hope you are doing well!

 

If you bid on a job post and you can see the active status as "Hired". That means the client has hired a person for that job but we can't say that the job post is closed because he/she can hire multiple persons for a particular until or unless he removes the job from his/her end.

 

I hope you got the answer satisfactory.

 

Regards

Vijay

rachelhuang2020
Active Member
Rachel H Member Since: Apr 20, 2020
3 of 6

Thank you. Very helpful!

vijayarya01
Active Member
Vijay K Member Since: Apr 19, 2020
4 of 6

Welcome. All the best for your Upwork career

dsmgdesign
Community Guru
David S M Member Since: Apr 24, 2018
5 of 6

When clients hire a freelancer, Upwork gives them an option to close the job posting or keep it open, even if they indicated they needed only 1 freelancer when they set up the job.  They bascially make it super easy for clients to leave the jobs open without giving much thought about how this effects freelancers. Personally, I think Upwork should change this so that if a client said they only needed 1 freelancer, and they fill that position, the job should be automatically closed, similar to how many staffing agencies do it. But that's not how the platform works, unforunately. 

rachelhuang2020
Active Member
Rachel H Member Since: Apr 20, 2020
6 of 6

I agree with you ... this seems to me a platform malfunction that should be fixed. Thank you for your help! 

TOP SOLUTION AUTHORS