Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to tell if the job is a Scam or not

mickerducky
Mikayla G Member Since: Jan 19, 2017
1 of 13

Hi,

I am new to using upwork and so far I am pretty sure I have only been offered jobs that are Scams. Does anyone have tips to know right of the bat that its a scam to avoid going through the hassle of creating a proposal? I am pretty sure that everything should be able to be done on upwork and is supposed to be done on upwork (interview, pay details etc.) Should I be concerned about downloading applications? I am just trying to be successful on here but it is frustrating when I have to figure out what is a scam and what is not.

mwiggenhorn
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
2 of 13

If you are new, pretty much every invitation you get will be a scam.  Even old-timers like me get very few invitations.

If you are new, I would insist that the interview take place on Upwork.  I've never had to fill out a job application - they're phishing for personal information.  Upwork has your information - the client doesn't need it.

All payment must take place through Upwork  Never ever ever agree to pay for software, computer or whatever.

Read everything you can find out about getting started on Upwork and make sure you read the Terms of Service and understand how payments work.

Good luck!.  I'm sure others will add to this list.

mickerducky
3 of 13

Thanks Mary! heres hoping I don't assume an actually offer isn't one!

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 13

re: "Does anyone have tips to know right of the bat that its a scam to avoid going through the hassle of creating a proposal?"

Mikayla:

Those of us who are experienced Upwork users can identify a scam invitation or scam job posting within a few seconds.

So, yes, it is possible to know right off the bat.