🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » How to use the work diary to bill for unpredi...
Page options
joneskellie62
Community Member

How to use the work diary to bill for unpredictable call answering, etc?

Hello,

I am a customer service agent that works in my virtual call center. I had a potential client that wanted to hire me and I would need to be available from 8 am- 5 pm, Monday through Friday to answer incoming calls, make outgoing calls for scheduling and calendar updates, etc. While we were talking on Upwork messenger, I asked him how many calls he usually receives a day (on estimate) and he stated that he usually receives 3-5 incoming and 1-3 outgoing calls a day. The client wanted to pay me only for when a call comes in and clock out as soon as I am finished with that call.

All calls would go through the Grasshopper app (cell phone) and I would have to log all of my time through the Jobber app. He originally wanted to pay me through the Jobber app! I told him that he would need to send me a contract so I can track my time via the Upwork work diary and pay me by using the Upwork platform since paying me through Jobber is a Terms of Service violation. There were a lot of red flags with this client, so I decided it was best for me to decline the job offer. In the future how would I be able to track unpredictable calls, etc through the Upwork work diary? 

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

You may do this however you want to, using the available tools, as long as you do not violate Upwork TOS.

In order to formulate your strategy, you need to understand that Upworl's tool is not a time clock. It is not designed to record precise time intervals that may be associated with short phone calls. Ideally, it is used by freelancers working in blocks of time of at least forty minutes in length.

It actually records time intervals of an average of ten minutes each... but the times that it takes screenshots are random.