🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: How to verify Identity if I go to the USA...
Page options
munia_k
Community Member

How to verify Identity if I go to the USA but My nationality is Bangladeshi

Hello Upwork Team!

I am new in Upwork. I knew from someone I have to verify my identity. I'm from Bangladesh but I have to go to USA for my higher study, recently. If I go to USA, how can I verify my identity and what is the documents I will need when I have no green card and I will live in USA as a Bangladeshi. Let me know thanks!

10 REPLIES 10
prestonhunter
Community Member

You can get a driver's license in the United States. Can get a non-driver state-issued ID card. Green card. Passport with accepted documents showing local address, such as utility bills. Upwork has a whole page explaining what documents can be accepted for location and identity verification protocols.

petra_r
Community Member

Mst Munia K wrote:

I'm from Bangladesh but I have to go to USA for my higher study, recently. If I go to USA, how can I verify my identity and what is the documents I will need when I have no green card and I will live in USA as a Bangladeshi. 

Does your visa allow you to work? Unless you are legally allowed to work in the USA, you can't work on Upwork.

You can use your Bangladeshi passport to verify your identity anyway. But the bigger picture is if you are even allowed to work. That is something you need to clarify with immigration. 

munia_k
Community Member

If my USA visa is permit me to work in USA, how can I verify it? What's documents I will need?

Mst Munia K wrote:

If my USA visa is permit me to work in USA, how can I verify it? What's documents I will need?