🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I accepted an offer and when they sent me add...
Page options
88d794d6
Community Member

I accepted an offer and when they sent me additional details, the job was completely different

I am new to upwork and was obviously excited to accept my first job. When they had sent me some details on what the job entailed, it seemd doable at the time. After I accepted the job and signed the contract, they sent me an outline of the book I was to write inspired by content of several other books. They then advised that I used Blinkist to read all these books and I have less than 5 days to complete a full 75,000 word book ON TOP OF needing to read several books for the content. This is literally imposible to do unless I stayed up for 5 days straight. I do not want negative remarks on my profile as I am just beginning, so how do I get out of this? They didn't tell me all of this before I accepted the offer and I feel that I was greatly misled and taken advantage of. Please advise. Thank you 

19 REPLIES 19
harisfaisal1
Community Member

Hi Giovanna,

It's best to discuss in detail and provide an outline for exactly what you are going to do in the job before accepting the contract, that way you can adress such issues as they arise.

If the client led you to believe the work was significantly less than what they are asking of you then you should talk to your client and discuss the situation, ask for more time and renegotiate the price of the project based on the additional work.

That being said sometimes the perspective of the client and the freelancer are vastly different and in these cases people have cancelled their contracts, I believe you have a 24 hour window to do so.

Good Luck!!

I have 24 hours to cancel without penalty? 

Indeed you do, for the first 24 hrs you can cancel it. 

Haris,