🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: I am a newbie and I need some guidance on...
Page options
021b985f
Community Member

I am a newbie and I need some guidance on a hourly rate job.

Hi guys, I am a newbie on here. Joined Upwork a few days ago 😊

I am discussing a job with a client at the moment. I provided samples of my previous work and the client liked it. It is an hourly rate job. The job involves managing RSVPs for a wedding (including sending out invitations and managing the status in a customized spreadsheet). The next step pretty much will be to confirm the job with the client.

The client may start sending out some "save the dates" by the end of this week/beginning of next week. For the wedding, it will be a variety of events with around 200 guests.

I have 3 major questions:

1. Is the next step, once we have agreed on job details and hourly rate, for the client to send a contract to me on Upwork and I accept it? And use the tracker to track my working hours and work diaries when I start working the job task?

2. It's my first time doing freelance since I've worked full-time for all my previous work experiences. I'm not sure if my understanding of the calculation of charge is right. I don't know even if this is a silly question, but I need help!😂

Is the hourly rate calculated based on (Hourly rate x Working hours x Working days)?

As an example, if my hourly rate is $5 and the job task will need me from 9am to 6pm (9 hrs) and from 1 Jan to 31 Jan (31 days), does that mean $5 x 9 hrs x 31 days?

3. How do freelancers charge for this kind of job?

I would appreciate any help in starting my journey on Upwork. Thank you guys!

Cheers:clinking_beer_mugs:

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
martina_plaschka
Community Member