Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I am new and I have questions for my work

marychemist
Maria Antonieta V Member Since: Sep 16, 2016
1 of 13

I am new in Upwork.

My name is Mary and I am a chemist formulator in Mexico.

In Upwork I understand budget is free when the work is finished and if the client like it.

The question is:

Can the client free the 100% of the budget BEFORE he can see the formula?

If the client see the formula then he will have all project and it is my idea.

I am a little confused how budget works and possibilities.

Thank you for your help.

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
BEST ANSWER
2 of 13

The "budget" is what the client says is the amount they have in mind for the work when they post the job.

You are free to bid higher or lower.

Once you are officially hired, (and ONLY then) and have an active contract in the "My Jobs" section you can see the amount agreed.

Payment depends on the contract type. If you have an hourly contract you track your time and are paid, as the name suggests, at your hourly rate for the hours you have worked.

If the contract is fixed rate you also see it in the "My Jobs" page.

You should make sure that it says "funded" to the full amount of the milestone. This means the client has already paid and the money is held in Escrow. Do NOT do any work unless you see the agreed amount fully funded on "My Jobs"

You can then submit your work and click on "submit work / request payment.

The client then reviews your work and either approves payment, or requests changes.

If the client does nothing you are automatically paid 14 days later.

If you go to the "My Jobs" page and there is nothing there, you were not hired, don't have a contract, should not do any work and certainly not send any work to the client.

The "My Jobs" page looks a bit like this when you have contracts:

my jobs.jpg

View solution in original post

marychemist
3 of 13

Dear Petra