🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I asked for a candidate's email address for a...
Page options
Community Member

I asked for a candidate's email address for an interview via Zoom.

Hi, I'm a freelancer and I have a client on Upwork who has currently open job post.

It is part of my task to get these candidates hop on an interview with us via Zoom, and I asked for an email address of one of the candidates without knowing that it is not allowed.

As a freelancer, when talking to potential clients, we have an option to talk through Upwork, Skype, Zoom, and etc, that is why I thought it is okay to do this. Upon doing research, Upwork says it is illegal.

Will my account get suspended for my action?

P.S.

I was using Client account when I did it.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I asked for a candidate's email address for an interview via Zoom."

That's okay!

People make mistakes.

The important thing is that we learn from our mistakes and not make those same mistakes again in the future.

re: "Will my account get suspended for my action?"

No.

You have been honest and up front about the situation. Upwork is not going to suspend you for this. Just don't do this again.

You may communicate using the Upwork Messags tool while you do not yet have an official contract with a client.

After a contract is in place, then clients and freelancers may share contact information with each other - including email address - and may communicate any way they want to.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "I asked for a candidate's email address for an interview via Zoom."

That's okay!

People make mistakes.

The important thing is that we learn from our mistakes and not make those same mistakes again in the future.

re: "Will my account get suspended for my action?"

No.

You have been honest and up front about the situation. Upwork is not going to suspend you for this. Just don't do this again.