🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: I couldn't get hired for a job
Page options
aaron_jesalva98
Community Member

I couldn't get hired for a job

I'm new to upwork and i can't get a job, i've submitted 3 proposal so far and no one is responding to them. It has been a week now. I've applied for a job that suits me, like web development and simple writing or editing jobs all at entry lvl. What's the secret on getting hired? I already did some editing on my profile and submitted decent cover letters to the job posts. Do clients prefer to hire people who only have experience on upwork?but how can i get experience if nobody hires me 😑. I still have zero views on my profile
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
sjbercot
Community Member

Hi Aaron, three proposals is a very small number to get started. Most freelancers have to send many proposals to get their first job (and often a lot of proposals after that to  keep working coming in). So it's not surprising that you don't have much success after only three. It might help you to check your job feed at least a few times a week, if not every day. 

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
sjbercot
Community Member

Hi Aaron, three proposals is a very small number to get started. Most freelancers have to send many proposals to get their first job (and often a lot of proposals after that to  keep working coming in). So it's not surprising that you don't have much success after only three. It might help you to check your job feed at least a few times a week, if not every day. 

Thanks for the advice! So i should just submit lots of proposal everyday? So i should invest on the upwork credit required to submit my proposals? I'm currently on the free plan. I have only 5 connects left
a_lipsey
Community Member

Aaron J wrote: