Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I don't trust the client.

amandagoncalves
Amanda G Member Since: Jul 24, 2017
1 of 4

Hello!

This is my first job interview and I don't think I can trust the client. He's asking many documents, even my electricity bill to check I'm a real person. Is that usual?

He's new at upwork, and as I have never done this before, I prefer asking.

yitwail
Community Guru
John K Member Since: Feb 17, 2015
2 of 4

Amanda, that's very abnormal. If I were you and this took place in Upwork messaging, I might report him. Just hover over one of his messages and you'll see a gear icon; click it, then choose Report Message. Or else stop communicating with him.

Kathy T Member Since: Jul 17, 2015
3 of 4

Did you apply for this job? If not, then it's most likely a scam. Scammers contact new freelancers because new freelancers do not know the in's and outs of this site and what to look out for. New freelancers are easy targets for any scam client to take advantage of, - and there are A LOT of scammers on this site. You need to take some time out and learn what to look out for and how to use Upwork.

This client, especially if you didn't apply for this job, sure sounds like a scammer and you should report them.

A client does not need to know ANYTHING personal about you. All they need to know is that you are going to do their work to their satisfaction. Your electric bill has nothing to do with the job in questions or how you work.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 4

re: "He's asking many documents, even my electricity bill to check I'm a real person. Is that usual?"

Are you applying for a job as an identity thief's victim?

If I was a client interested in hiring you and I wanted to check if you are a real person, I would ask you to do a short interview via phone or Skype. I would not ask for any documents.

This one is probably a scammer, and you should probably stop communicating with him.