🐈 Community

I don't understand Client payment milestone

I don't understand how milestones work. This is my first time receiving payment in milestones. The negotiated $5 per post and I completed 5 posts which is $25. But on receiving payments I saw;

Amount paid: $25.00

Amount: $5.00

I only got an invoice of $5 and the same $5 was reflected on my balance, instead of $25 

please help and tell me what is going on. If I need to message the client

6 REPLIES 6

Please I'm suppose to get $25 for this first milestone and I got $5. Is it
the clients fault or what went wrong.

He is yet to pay the second milestone tho.
Please view the screenshot below.

Temitope O wrote:
Please I'm suppose to get $25 for this first milestone and I got $5. Is it
the clients fault or what went wrong.

He is yet to pay the second milestone tho.
Please view the screenshot below.

It is your fault that you didn't know how to use upwork properly. You are lucky to have a very honest client who still paid you. 

First rule of upwork: never sent work when a milestone isn't funded. You should have asked the client to set the milestone with the full amount, since it's ridiculous to approve 5 separate 5$ milestones. Next time you know better. 

djondinium
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Temitope,

The milestone was set for $5 and the client sent an additional bonus payment of $20 which is why it's showing like that. The bonus payment is currently in the 'Pending' tab of your Reports page and should become available for you tomorrow, on the 13th of October.

Thank you.

~ Aleksandar
Upwork
m_terrazas

Temitope O wrote:

I don't understand how milestones work. This is my first time receiving payment in milestones. The negotiated $5 per post and I completed 5 posts which is $25. But on receiving payments I saw;

Amount paid: $25.00

Amount: $5.00

I only got an invoice of $5 and the same $5 was reflected on my balance, instead of $25