cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I felt like I got scammed...

jgross4573
Julie G Member Since: Feb 11, 2017
1 of 20
I felt like I got scammed from my job on Upwork. I don't want to use this site for freelance work. It's my first time using it and my experience has been awful! I didn't get paid for my work. My client I was working for was extremely rude to me and said he sent me $10 but never got it. I felt like he took advantage of me since I didn't know how Upwork worked and offered me help but changed his mind later on. I am just beyond frustrated.
prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
2 of 20

re: "I felt like I got scammed from my job on Upwork"

You might be right. You might be wrong. Your profile page says you completed a project and you were paid $10 for it.

re: "I don't want to use this site for freelance work."

That is understandable. Fortunately, it is completely your choice.

re: "It's my first time using it and my experience has been awful! I didn't get paid for my work."

Yeah, that happens a lot with newbies when they jump in without reading or following the directions. Don't take it personally. I don't know if that is what happened to you. You might be so new that you were paid and don't even realize you were paid.

re: "My client I was working for was extremely rude to me"

There is absolutely no excuse for rudeness on this platform. Your client's behavior was unacceptable and you may report him if you wish to do so.

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
3 of 20

re: "and said he sent me $10 but never got it."

I always get paid for the work I do on Upwork. I know how to use the platform properly. It's actually one of the safest places to earn money online if you know about 3 basic rules.

If you want to tell us about your situation in more detail, we could explain to you what mistakes you made so that you don't make those same mistakes again.