🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: I got scammed by a client through a parti...
Page options
charlougilbert
Community Member

I got scammed by a client through a partially funded milestone

Hello, 

I wanted to share my recent experience and hear from the community of Freelancers what they thought about this.

I have been a freelancer on Upwork for one year. Thus, I am fairly new with only 21 jobs completed. Last week, I accept a small job for a new client. For the first time since I've been on Upwork I noticed that the Milestone was only partially funded (50% of our agreed price was in escrow). Before the client created the Milestone, we had formally agreed on $45 for the task. When he created the Milestone, it read something like "Bugdet: 45 / In escrow: 22.5 / Remaining: 22.5". Honestly, I did not think twice about the fact that it was only partially funded. For some reason, it made complete sense to me. I assumed that the client was being "cautious" and did not want to put all his money in escrow with a new freelancer that he didn't know. And since I am a very serious and reliable freelancer, I just figured that the $45 would be released once the client reviewed my work and saw that it was serious work.

Fast-track to when I sent my finished work. Client received my work, was very happy with it and even complimented me. He wrote "This is perfect, I really appreciate your attention to detail! Thank you for turning this around quickly. Cheers! I'll likely have some more work for you soon". He approved the milestone and I only got paid $22.5. At that point I thought "WTF?!" but wrote him a very nice and polite message asking if he knew why only half of the money had been released. Instead of responding, he simply ended the contract without a word.

Right now, the job details read: "Budget: 45 / Paid: 22.5 / Remaining: 22.5"