cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have 5 stars, but "65% success"

Highlighted
Ian L Member Since: Sep 1, 2015
1 of 11

Hi, I've been a freelancer for some time now, with a history of 25 jobs.

Here's a screenshot of my four lowest ratings in my entire history of freelancing.

Ian's Lowest Ratings

You can take a look for yourself on my profile.

My clients and I have always satisfied with my work. In fact, there was only 1 job out of 25 in which my client was dissatisfied (the issue was mutually resolved on friendly terms anyways). This would mean that I have a 96% success rate, because 24 divided by 25 is 0.96. 

However, here's a screenshot of my depressing "Job Success" bar, visible to the public on my profile.

Job Success.jpg

I've never understood where this number came from. I've contacted Upwork, beleiving this number was in error, but they simply read me some sort of convoluted documentation about the "JSS" system which I had already read anyways in trying to understand this number.

Ever since this sad "Job Success" score of 65% has been forcibly added onto my profile, I've been pretty unsuccessful in bidding on new jobs. 

What confuses me even more is that, if you take a look at this blue bar, it clearly shows less than 50%. And here's a simple illustration showing that the blue bar is making me look worse than the JSS score already is.

Calculations

The bar fills only 36 pixels of a 120 pixel space. 36 divided by 120 is 0.3. This means that whoever glances at this blue bar is being told that I have a success rate of 30%.

This is further verified by taking a look at the CSS code governing the "o-jss-bar" element of my profile.

Code