🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I have an issue about 'trial gigs' I'm sure o...
Page options
jokerette
Community Member

I have an issue about 'trial gigs' I'm sure others have as well

This has happened several times and a developer friend of mine might have the answer. I'm a writer, and I took a "Trial contract" (a 1000 word blog) for not that much money. Idea being, if my writing suits, they hire me to do a book for decent money.

I didn't read the contract - it wound up being 2000 words. Now I'm suspicious. My question: if he says he can't use my work, is that blog then mine? Mind you, I will be paid for it.

I'd like to say, "If my work isn't (whatever,) you won't be using it. So do you mind if I shop it elsewhere?" I won't do that if it breaks any rules, but dang there should be something to help those in this same condition.

Thanks in advance,

Cat

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

If the client pays for it, they own it unless you've explicitly contracted otherwise. 

The good news is you got paid something. The bad news is you evidently got paid less than you meant to charge on a per-word basis. The good news is you probably won't accept a contract without reading it again. The possibly irrelevant news is you have lots of company with respect to the last point. 

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
prestonhunter
Community Member

Don't work for free.

If you work, and the client doesn't pay you for your work, then you own the work.

Except that she says she is being paid, and in that case, the client does own the work. What he does with it - uses it or doesn't use it - is his business.

gilbert-phyllis
Community Member

If the client pays for it, they own it unless you've explicitly contracted otherwise.