🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I have been scammedd
Page options
itz_translator
Community Member

I have been scammedd

Actually i was given a contract of translation, but to receive the file to be translated , i was asked to pay , though I am a freelancer, I paid because I was told that it was the support asking for payment, and now the contract is closed. What should I do now ? I want to contact support, I tried everything, please help me getting my money back.
ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r
Community Member

Om K wrote:
Actually i was given a contract of translation, but to receive the file to be translated , i was asked to pay , though I am a freelance

Freelancing means that the client pays you, not the other way around. Why would you pay a client to work for them?

Om K wrote:
 please help me getting my money back.

You won't get your money back through Upwork because the payment didn't go through Upwork.  Upwork can't help you get your money back. Depending on how you paid, contact your bank, card issuer or PayPal to see if they can help.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
petra_r
Community Member

Om K wrote:
Actually i was given a contract of translation, but to receive the file to be translated , i was asked to pay , though I am a freelance

Freelancing means that the client pays you, not the other way around. Why would you pay a client to work for them?

Om K wrote:
 please help me getting my money back.

You won't get your money back through Upwork because the payment didn't go through Upwork.  Upwork can't help you get your money back. Depending on how you paid, contact your bank, card issuer or PayPal to see if they can help.

beda709f
Community Member

Hi Mam,

I have worked for two clients and submitted the work. Before the work, they told me they will pay through PayPal. And when it comes for payment they sad you have to submit this much amount to receive a salary. what should i do please tell me

Sanchi S wrote:

Hi Mam,