🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » I have expert skills in almost all software -...
Page options
jlburdette
Community Member

I have expert skills in almost all software - databases - .net - HTML5 - Google Suite - no jobs?????

I am having a hard time with proposals at this point. I have so many skills, expertise experience, and education. My profile is loaded with examples of my work. What should I try next?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tlsanders
Community Member

Narrow it down. Most of us have dozens of skills we've been paid for at some point in the past and could use to make a living. But, when you advertise them all to clients, they see "master of nothing." Pick what you want to market and rebuild your profile and proposals around it.

I see that you call yourself "master of many," but that's just not marketable. 

For example, I'm an attorney, former teacher, curriculum developer, digital marketing expert, former newspaper reporter, experienced writing coach, and law school admissions consultant with signicant SEO and editing experience. I also have professional experience in social media marketing, developing and managing pay-per-click ad campaigns, ghostwriting business books, and writing white papers in the medical and dental technology industries. 

On Upwork, I offer consumer-directed legal content writing. 

View solution in original post

44 REPLIES 44
prestonhunter
Community Member

Re: "I have expert skills in almost all software"

I have hired over 100 freelancers on Upwork, in over a dozen areas of expertise.

One of the first things I look at is if the freelancer has a large number of different skills.

And then I delete them from the candidate list.

I prefer to hire experts.

Are you saying if I am an expert in many different areas that you would delete me? Could you rationalize why that that would deter a client?

Ja'Net, it's the same thing for all service businesses.