cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: I have had no interviews or jobs since getting my 100% JSS. Help?

Highlighted
Benjamin G Member Since: Feb 14, 2019
1 of 7

Hi everyone,

I am still quite a fresher on Upwork, and only recently started working on this amazing platform (first job mid-January). I have been working in my field for years and have qualifications and references, so quickly after getting my first job, I started receiving more, and became part of the Rising Talent program.
At that stage, I was getting regular requests to apply to jobs, and people were generally getting back to me after my proposals (about 25% of the time). I also completed all my jobs with great feedback, and great client relations (except one fraudulent contract on the client's end, but that does not really translates on my profile, and does not represent my abilities).
Roughly ten days ago, I graduated from my ten days of Rising Talent to my first JSS. 100% Hurray! I was super happy and still am.
But here is the thing: since I got this JSS, I have had zero invitations to apply, zero jobs, and virtually no one gets back to my proposals (only one actually out of 20, and it was a pre-typed group reply).
Now, I have quite a specific skillset, and there are a lot of other freelancers on that segment, so I carefully select the jobs I apply to, and write a unique proposal each and every time, with examples, links, and references. I apply to about a job a day.

I am aware that no profile is a perfect profile, so I played around with the special profiles, and then decided to drop them, I also rewrote my personal statement, added elements of my portfolio to the website (and not only a link to my external website) etc.

If anyone that is more experienced went through the same "dip", what happened?

If anyone has time, what would you change on my profile to make it more "hireable"? Is there anything "repulsive" or not compelling/enticing in my profile?