cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm A Rookie!

allisonphillips
Allison P Member Since: Aug 21, 2016
1 of 5

Hello everyone! I am brand new to this program and am so excited to try to get on my feet. I am mainly looking for work in administrative support/customer service/data entry and jobs along those lines. I have never done freelance work and to be honest it is a little intimidating and I am just wondering if anyoe who has been succssful at this has any advice to offer to someone who is just getting started and does not really have a specific "specialty". Any information or tips provided are greatly appreciated!!

Allison Smiley Happy

tlsanders
Community Guru
Tiffany S Member Since: Jan 15, 2016
2 of 5

My first piece of advice would be to get a specialty. I'm not being flip--people who offer too many different services rather than presenting themselves as the go-to person for one thing don't tend to do very well here. There's always someone competing for that job who has presented himself as an expert in exactly what the client is looking for.

allisonphillips
Allison P Member Since: Aug 21, 2016
3 of 5

Thank you! I truly am going to take all the advice I can get and will do whatever it takes to make this successful.

davidd1008
Community Leader
David D Member Since: Jun 8, 2016
4 of 5

Hello from Michigan! Welcome! And good luck!

A few things:

1. Absolutely start off with one (maybe two) specialties and stick to them. Clients are looking for specifics. If you try to be a "Jane of All Trades" you'll diversify yourself out of contention. If someone is looking for a plumber, they want a plumber. They don't care if they also do painting and electrical work. So focus on one area and once you have a relationship with a client you can have the conversation about how there's more you can do for them.