cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I was asked to do an on site translation in my hometown Cali Colombia

carolinamontoya
Carolina M Member Since: Mar 7, 2018
1 of 8

Hello. I am new to Upwork and have not yet been hired for any jobs. I recieved an invitation yesterday from a client to be his translator for a few meetings he has tomorrow march 8th (from 10 am to 5pm he says) . His profile says his payment is not verified and that he is from singapore. I´m not sure if this is real or if this is something safe to do. I find it kind of odd that he is coming to my city in Colombia para if it is true maybe this is why he contacted me even though I am new? I would really appreciate some help regarding this matter. 

Thank you! 

gilbert-phyllis
Community Guru
Phyllis G Member Since: Sep 8, 2016
BEST ANSWER
2 of 8

For any project, you should not do any work at all until (1) the client offers you a contract with terms that are acceptable to you (how much you'll be paid and when, and for what), and (2) the client's payment method is verified. (Often, a client new to Upwork will not bother to verify their payment method until they are ready to hire, and that's fine. But never actually begin work until it's verified.)

The project you describe could be perfectly legit but, as you obviously recognize, there are a lot of ways it could be risky. Before accepting the contract, you could require certain detailed information that you should be able to confirm: his name, company, position with the company, who he's meeting and where and for what purpose; require that your pay include reimbursement for transportation (and meals, if necessary). Even with all of that, there is still some risk involved IMO.

I would expect that a legitimate businessman in that situation would turn to an agency that provides on-site interpreters. If his meetings are important enough to pay for an interpreter, why would he take a chance on an unvetted freelancer?