🐈 Community

I was scammed

I'm a newbie in upwork.I sent a proposal to a client and she chatted me. I agree for the project.  Since I'm a newbie, I wasn't able to do other things like to set a contract in that post. Our transactions are all in the messages tab. We agree that her two projects would cost only $50.00. It was already part of the active candidacies. But when I open my upwork account this morning, the post changes its status as "declined by client". I already gave her two files and she commended the first one. Please help me with my concern. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
petra_r

@Helden Shalynae P wrote:

Please help me with my concern. 

No contract = You learned the hard way not to give away your work for free.

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
petra_r

Please help me with my concern. 

No contract = You learned the hard way not to give away your work for free.

I thought that is how it works. 

I thought that is how its works because we transact through chat. I was just a member for 1 week in upwork, there are still things that I dont understand. 

I'm a newbie in upwork.I sent a proposal to a client and she chatted me. I agree for the project.  Since I'm a newbie, I wasn't able to do other things like to set a contract in that post. Our transactions are all in the messages tab. We agree that her two projects would cost only $50.00. It was already part of the active candidacies. But when I open my upwork account this morning, the post changes its status as "declined by client". I already gave her two files and she commended the first one. Please help me with my concern. 

Helden, you wrote, "I already gave her two files". That's exactly right, when you send anything to a client without a contract, you're giving it to them. So you *maybe* lost $50, and maybe you didn't because there are clients who never hire anyone and only create jobs so they can trick new freelancers into giving them free work.