🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » ID verification of US based business having n...
Page options
viragshah100
Community Member

ID verification of US based business having non citizens

Hi. 

I am a CPA having following IDs to offer for verification - 

1. Indian passport with valid US visa

2. Indian driving license

3. My corporation's incorporation and bank statement (Wyoming)

I want to know how do I complete ID verification. I also need to know what jobs will I be able to take up if I don't qualify for USonly jobs. 

8 REPLIES 8
prestonhunter
Community Member

Virag:

Thank you for your question.

Upwork does not actually look at what countries you have visas for or where you have incorporated.

The "location" field on a freelancer's profile is based on where the freelancer physically lives.

So if you live in Cheynne, Wyoming... then yes, you an complete your identity verification based on that location and you can apply to U.S.-only jobs. But if you have simply filed articles of incorporation with the state of Wyoming... that doesn't count for your Upwork freelancer profile.

How do I select that on my profile?

re: "How do I select that on my profile?"

You will need to work through Upwork Customer Support.

Or a Forum Moderator will help you. You should wait and see if a Moderator helps you today.

Virag S wrote:

How do I select that on my profile?

Are you currently physically living in the USA and can prove that? 

Unless you are actually, really, physically living and entitled to work in the USA, don't even think about changing it on your profile unless you wish to be suspended.

I think it's quite clear that you are not and that you do not live in the USA, so it is really unfortunate that you are encouraged to try and pull a stunt that will result in you being kicked off the platform.

BojanS
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Virag,