🐈
» Forums » Support » Name and ID verification
Page options
v_scott
Community Member

Identity Verification When Transgender

Hi, I'm a transgender freelancer who would like to verify that I live in the US, but I don't want to use my legal name for obvious reasons and would rather use my preferred name. Is there any way I could get verified while still using my preferred name? Thanks.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi Alex,

There most certainly is! Upwork will make exceptions for transgender individuals who are in the process of transitioning but have not been able to obtain a name change due to legal or other barriers. Documentation may be required and so, it would be best if you reach out directly to our support team so they can assist you within a private and secure channel of communication. 

How do I reach a human in customer support?

1. Please visit Contact Support and click the ‘Chat with Upwork' button.
  2. Type a question or topic and select ‘Send’. The bot will find relevant Help articles for you.
  3. The chatbot will ask you to confirm if you need additional help. If you confirm that you need additional help, you will be asked to confirm the account type you need help with.
  4. From there, the support options available to you will be listed. Select either of the options to be able to contact the Upwork Support Team.

~Andrea
Upwork

View solution in original post

191 REPLIES 191
kochubei_valeria
Community Member

You certainly can, Vivian. We'll have somebody reach out to you directly with more information on how to complete your location verification.

~ Valeria
Upwork

Hi I have the same issue. Can someone with upwork contact me about this?

g_vasilevski
Retired Team Member
Retired Team Member

Hi Julie,

Of course, one of our team members will reach out to you directly and assist you further with this. Thank you.

~ Goran
Upwork

Please contact me as well, I am having the same issue. Thank you!

Hi  Isabella,