🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: If a client changes the job description o...
Page options
natashadaya
Community Member

If a client changes the job description once I'm hired, should I ask for a higher rate of pay?

Hi all,

I am new to Upwork and have recently been hired by a client for the first time. The job posting was for an editor and the client asked me to edit one document first to see if I was a good fit. He then said I did a great job and has now asked me to write the content. He also expects me to edit my own work as I write. Since the client is asking me to do something different from the original job description, is it fair for me to ask for a higher rate of pay? Can I do this when I am already hired for the job? I don't want to lose the client since this is a good opportunity for me, but I feel that a higher rate of pay is warranted given the new job description. Any advice you can provide would be much appreciated! Thanks!

4 REPLIES 4
prestonhunter
Community Member

With an hourly contract, I DO NOT change my rate if asked to do something different. That is my choice. Other freelancers may handle things differently, which is fine.

If I am hired with an hourly contract, then my time is my time. So I don't change my rate if the client changes what he asks me to do. I will straight up tell the client that I am not the right person for certain tasks if they are outside of my expertise. I will tell clients that they'll end up spending more. If they ask me to do that rather than hire somebody else to do that. But if the client really wants me to do something, and I'm not going to say no, then I'll do it at the same hourly rate.

=======

As for fixed-price contracts:

You will regret it if you let a client abuse the intended way that a fixed-contract works.

Don't let this slide. I have seen too many freelancers really end up having trouble with contracts when they "train" a client the wrong way by letting a client get away with anything.