cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

If a job/project shows someone was "Hired" below the details, is that project no longer open?

johnhammell
John H Member Since: May 4, 2016
1 of 46

I'm new to Upwork and have been reviewing a lot of jobs/projects in the past two days.

If a job is still in the job search results, does that mean the job is still open / unfilled?  Often there are simple projects where it shows below the details that someone was "Hired."

Does that mean the job is no longer active?  If so, then why do jobs like that still show in the search results?

I need some clarification on this as I do not want to be wasting credits for connections by making proposals for jobs/projects which have already been filled.

Thanks,

John

mwiggenhorn
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
2 of 46

Some clients either hire more than one freelancer and/or leave the job open because they are not sold on the freelancer they hired.

taustinray
Community Guru
Tom R Member Since: Oct 29, 2015
3 of 46

@Mary W wrote:

Some clients either hire more than one freelancer and/or leave the job open because they are not sold on the freelancer they hired.

Except for the fact the contracts, one agreed to and the job awarded, are between the client and *that* freelancer. They just can't take me off a contract and put you on it. What if there were milestones already paid? What if it's an hourly project and money is still being processed. Then there is any disputes that client might have with the freelancer or vice versa which is now why they are looking for a new freelancer. Again that contract is now tied up in disputes. Any further work by anoher freelancer on that contract would be a horrible mess to figure out what part of that contract was done by freelancer A and what was done by the new freelancer.

You would take a contract between you and a client and just scribble a new clients name on it? No, because it's a binding agreement.