taish0

Inactive contracts affecting my JSS - suggestion

At the moment, as most of us know, jobs opened for a long time without any payment will cause our JSS drop. The same goes for contracts which we end, instead of Client. It means that Client's sloppiness and unrespinsiveness will affect us negatively.

I had some brilliant Clients, who reviewed my work and paid in a blink of an eye, but informing them about the need of closing the contract if they don't wish to give me another assignment, is like ramming the wall with my head - no reaction. Should I spam them with another messages that they need to close the contract? Is this what Upwork wants?

As a freelancer I have really many concerns, project, tax or law related. It's really unfortunate that another things comes up, one which I am not even able to do anything about.

Here is my suggestion for Upwork:

1. Set a maximum time of inactivity for contract.

2. Automatically close the contract after this period, without punishment for any of the sides and send a notification about it, encouraging to post feedback. Even message sent would be an activity, to make sure not to shut the project when something is being done.

This way you can kill 3 birds with one stone:

1. Freelancer happy about not losing JSS, less bureaucracy, and getting rid of a doubtful pleasure to contact Clients with "Hey, You haven't finished the paperwork with the contract!".

2. Clients are not put in the position, that freelancers tell them that they "didn't do something" with a contract and possibly that they will lose JSS because of this.

3. Upwork can get rid of inactive contracts a way better than currently.

Regards

4 REPLIES 4
aiyana-ward

I'm afraid what you say just makes too much sense, friend. That would be too much like progress, and we can't have that on Upwork.