🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Increase in hourly rate experiences
Page options
g_urgeghe
Community Member

Increase in hourly rate experiences

Hi Everybody, I work on upwork from June 2019 and I gradually increased my hourly rate, I brought the rate to 65 $ per hour and I have an active contract with this rate. I have been working in this field for many years and I think within a year to bring it to 80/90 $ if I'm lucky. I wanted to ask you about your experience during the rate switch, before I received many invitations for small jobs ($ 500/800) now I start not receiving them, maybe because I lost the rising talent status and I'm about to move to my jss. In any case, I would like to focus on complex and profitable jobs, small jobs take up too much time in customer care. I'd like to hear your experiences. Thanks!

11 REPLIES 11
sharonmre
Community Member

Hi Giacomo, I wanted to share my opinion. Upwork is a platform that does not attract a lot of profitable companies. I have also noticed that more jobs are entry level and even the experienced level jobs, the final decision is based on reviews and price. If someone with the same reviews as you charges less, they will get the job. That's how it works on Upwork. I think Upwork needs to create a separate section that targets companies and only people with a certain approval rate would be allowed to apply for those jobs, because at the moment experienced people end up competing with less experienced freelancers and are losing those jobs simply because they are charging more. 

Thanks Sharon for sharing your experience, I noticed a lot of entry level jobs and many Freelancers starting their careers. You're right, maybe many will be attracted by the low price but then they will have a cheap job. let's see in the coming months how it evolves.

Giacomo U wrote: