🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Independant Contractor Service Agreement: Sig...
Page options
mariannefrca
Community Member

Independant Contractor Service Agreement: Sign it or not?

Hi!

I am a Freelance Translator and  Copywriter. 

I have been asked by a potential client to sign an Independent Contractor Service Agreement before starting translating, even before taking a paid test...

The client uses a slightly different name on Upwork and in the agreement (I modified it for privacy purposes) but let's say that he is under : Paul Smith, on Upwork and under Michael Paulo Smith, in the agreement.

I am always wary, so I figured it doesn't cost to get an advice here... Do I sign it or not?

Please see below for the agreement (the names were modified for privacy) and let me know if it is worth signing it. 

Please note that as a Translator, I often use automatic translating tools like online translators or grammar checkers and then always proofread the text(s). 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

**Edited for community guidelines**

4 REPLIES 4
vdubeau
Community Member

I would look into the name difference. otherwise as long as there is nothing disagreeable in the agreement  and you feel comfortable with the terms, I don't see a problem signing it.

"Remember, no matter where you go, there you are."
Buckaroo Banzai
data_divas
Community Member

I would say it's okay as long as you have been hired.  I would not sign anything prior to having a contract in place.

cec0fbf0
Community Member

Hi,

I think we have been hired for the same exact job. I am researching this contract before signing it. They presented it as an NDA but there are plenty of other terms in there like a non-solicit term.
I am also reluctant to reveal my home address in a contract where the other party is practically anonymous with no address of its own.