Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing Browser Extension

Highlighted
Hector III G Member Since: Oct 18, 2016
1 of 11

Hi,

I just had my first contact with one of my submitted proposal. I was asked to download a software for doing a data entry task. When I check the link provided, its asking me to install a 3rd party browser extension. My concern is I read the details in the install desclaimer that it will get all of my browser details (saved passwords and data) also I got an alert to my internet security suite that there is a detected risk for the file.

I want to know if this is safe and if this is the normal process. I'm new to this upwork and online job thing.

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Mary W Member Since: Nov 10, 2014
2 of 11

Has the client even hired you?  (Offered a contract through Upwork which you have accepted).  I wouldn't touch this job myself.  Sounds very scammy, especially if you have not been hired.

This is not normal.  I would flag the job and move on to something else.

Highlighted
Denis D Member Since: Feb 13, 2009
3 of 11

I've been invited to bid on a job, and the specs for the job are in a spreadsheet that contains macros.

It's my understanding that opening the spreadsheet can be dangerous, but the employer seems to have rec'd good ratings on a number of past jobs. I've never done work for this employer, and it was a "blast" invite, i.e. 200 invitations were made.

Am I right to be suspicious?

Highlighted
4 of 11

Hi,

Thank you for your response.

No I did not receive any offer/contract.

I only got a message telling me that I have been accepted as part of the team. Then they provide me with the computation of payment. Then part of the instruction is to download something using a mirrored website.