Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Introducing: oDesk Quality Training

prestonhunter
Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
1 of 8

I am an oDesk contractor and client. I do NOT work for oDesk.

Here is my idea, which I'm completely making up out of my head. I don't want you to think I heard about this anywhere or that oDesk has actually announced anything like this. This is just an idea.

"Introducing: oDesk Quality Training"

The primary purpose of some new quality assurance programs such as using Connects instead of job application quotas and introducing premium memberships is to improve the quality of job applications and job applicants, and to improve the quality of the oDesk experience overall for both clients and contractors.

One problem that diminishes the quality of the oDesk experience is clients and contractors acting in ways which violate both oDesk's stated policies as well as general best practices.

Poor quality job postings and scammers posing as "clients" who post scam jobs diminish the quality of oDesk. Job applications that contain basic fundamental mistakes also diminish the quality of the oDesk experience.

Training can help. For example, if all oDesk contractors knew more fully about the policy prohibiting clients from asking for free work, then there would be fewer instances of clients actually being able to get away with doing so, and fewer clients would consistently and repeatedly do so.

But oDesk contractors are anxious to sign up and start earning money on oDesk. They often do not spend the time reading through the available oDesk literature. And even if they do, they may not return to see updated versions of the literature which reflect the latest trends and research available that would help them be high-quality contractors. Or at least know about the latest client scams that they should watch out for.

What would prompt oDesk Contractors to take time out to continue educating themselves?