🐈
» Groups » Writers & Translators » Forum » Is ChatGPT killing writing jobs on Upwork?
Page options
airmanx
Community Member

Is ChatGPT killing writing jobs on Upwork?

As a top-rated plus writer, I used to receive invitations almost every day. Now, after ChatGPT became famous, it has been weeks since I received an invite. I'm wondering if it's just a coincidence or has ChatGPT already started makin its impact on Upwork. I would like to ask other writers for their comments on ChatGPT and what they are doing in this situation,

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

It can and it can't. I'd have to read more of it, to be sure, but what I have read lacks something. Maybe it is "the voice behind the voice." I could reference different movies all day long but part of what makes my movie references different behind them is the intent.

This isn't to say that the work coming out isn't adequate, but is it good?

And one other thought, I imagine that the words are often vetted by a human author before released for publication. So changes and tweaks are most likely made, unless you are telling me that no editing goes on.

View solution in original post

89 REPLIES 89
khalidaehaab
Community Member

Ah! ChatGPT can produce human like text, but it is not capable of matching the accuracy and nuance that a human writer can provide. The power of the human mind, specifically creativity, cannot be replicated by a machine  Artificial Intelligence .

Mohammad Khalid I wrote:

Ah! ChatGPT can produce human like text, but it is not capable of matching the accuracy and nuance that a human writer can provide. The power of the human mind, specifically creativity, cannot be replicated by a machine  Artificial Intelligence .

The text can come off as very human, as it is sourced from people's actual writing (if only said people knew about it, but alas...nah).