🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is Upwork restricted solely to freelancers?
Page options
Community Member

Is Upwork restricted solely to freelancers?

Hi, I'm a newbie and I was wondering if Upwork is just for genuine freelancers. I could see that if established-looking companies and businesses, with logos etc., were promoting their services through the platform then customers would perhaps tend to lean towards hiring them over individual freelancers, even if that one is qualified to do the job. 

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Greg H wrote:

Hi, I'm a newbie and I was wondering if Upwork is just for genuine freelancers. I could see that if established-looking companies and businesses, with logos etc., were promoting their services through the platform then customers would perhaps tend to lean towards hiring them over individual freelancers, even if that one is qualified to do the job. 

A group of freelancers can create an agency, that would comprise of a number of people that all have separate freelancer accounts. It does not work like a traditional agency, though, because the client still has to hire individual freelancers in the agency. 

The general consensus seems to be that clients prefer to work with individual freelancers and that being part of an agency is perceived as a disadvantage. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
martina_plaschka
Community Member

Greg H wrote:

A group of freelancers can create an agency, that would comprise of a number of people that all have separate freelancer accounts. It does not work like a traditional agency, though, because the client still has to hire individual freelancers in the agency. 

The general consensus seems to be that clients prefer to work with individual freelancers and that being part of an agency is perceived as a disadvantage. 

You can be a freelancer and also be an "established business" - those two things aren't mutually exclusive.
roberty1y
Community Member