Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is Upwork worth it? Struggling to get responses

stephaniemalyon
Stephanie M Member Since: Jun 11, 2016
1 of 14

Hello Upworkers 

I can see the potential of Upwork - there seem to be a lot of freelancers out there doing well from it. But cracking it is proving really hard. I'm having the same issues as others - declined proposals or no reponses. EVEN for one off blog jobs where I have extensive subject knowledge.

I have 15+ years experience in communications. I've been through profiles of top rated freelancers in the same field, and apart from a list of jobs on Upwork, I'd say they were pretty comparable. 

Is it time to give up? I refuse to start on the $0.20 for 1000 words jobs... 

Any and all advice welcomed!

Thanks in advance

lysis10
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 14

Yep.

stephaniemalyon
Stephanie M Member Since: Jun 11, 2016
3 of 14

Yep is it worth it or yep it's time to give up..?

And if 'yep, it's worth it', do you have any advice as to what I can do to improve my prospects? 

versailles
Community Guru
Rene K Member Since: Jul 10, 2014
4 of 14

@Stephanie M wrote:

And if 'yep, it's worth it', do you have any advice as to what I can do to improve my prospects? 

Yes, it's worth it, but not as your only source of income. May work for few, but not a smart move if you ask me.

The most important thing is a solid portfolio (watermarked), and very well targetted cover letters, which is a skill that you'll learn with time.

Which brings us to patience. A lot of it is needed, and one must resist the urge to accept cr*p paying jobs to get some cred.

Also, you may want to expand your profile and highlight what your services are and what you can do for the client. Browse other profiles and get inspiration. But never copy, like zombies do.