cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is anyone getting a ton of requests that don't match their profile?

Kammy W Member Since: Apr 30, 2015
1 of 13

Hi!

I've been on oDesk/Upwork for several years. In the past few weeks I've been getting anywhere from 5-20 requests per day from people hoping I will write things for them -- but I'm an editor and proofreader, and my profile states that clearly. Initially I was flattered. Now it's getting annoying. Is there a way for people to filter searches?

Community Guru
Jean S Member Since: Oct 22, 2007
2 of 13

@Kammy W wrote:

Hi!

I've been on oDesk/Upwork for several years. In the past few weeks I've been getting anywhere from 5-20 requests per day from people hoping I will write things for them -- but I'm an editor and proofreader, and my profile states that clearly. Initially I was flattered. Now it's getting annoying. Is there a way for people to filter searches?

Yes the same is happening to me. I have one category I subscribe to. Resumes and Cover Letters. All my job skills listed refer to this category. Yet I get invited to Web Developer Jobs, Graphic Jobs and everything else inappropriate. Every morning I wake up to new invites that have nothing to do with my skills. It's demoralizing first thing every morning.

Mohammad Usman U Member Since: May 8, 2015
3 of 13

right saying, i don't know what is heppening here, please some thing theee best for all of us.

Community Guru
Preston H Member Since: Nov 24, 2014
4 of 13
In the past couple months I have experienced a huge increase in invites, but all of them except for one have been extremely appropriate for my skills.

These days I often keep my availability setting set to unavailable in order to limit these invites.
Community Guru
Amy T Member Since: Jan 31, 2013
5 of 13

Same here. Yesterday alone I received 3 invites for editing. I am a graphic designer, not an editor.