🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is it a scam? Sharing my experience.
Page options
vidadejesus
Community Member

Is it a scam? Sharing my experience.

I am still a newbie here at UpWork though I have 13 years of experience in Marketing. That is because my experience is mostly dealing with local SMEs, businesses based here in my country.

So let me tell you a story of how I got scammed. It is the first time in my life.

The client has an unverified payment method that joined June 4. I applied because I have not much UpWork experience. So the client asked me to do test articles as part of the interview. I agreed to do a test article because I don't have what she was looking for in my portfolio. That was my first mistake.

She accepted the article I have submitted but told me it still doesn't fit the genre. She asked me if I want to try again. I said it was OK to do another one. My second mistake, I should have declined.

So, when she checked, she told me I have a few grammatical errors. I acknowledge the mistake but didn't ask her to specify where the error is in the article. She said, despite the inaccuracies, she will still offer me a contract.

She told me that she is not the one who will offer the contract. She told me to wait for an offer from another person from her group. (Is there something wrong here?) When I received the offer, I accepted the project. Then she instructed me to converse on Skype. That was mistake number 3.

My project was to upload four memes and an article every day. She told me to wait for the WordPress access so I can save drafts and also to wait for Facebook Page access so I can schedule posts. I suggested, while waiting for access, I am going to write three articles and look for 12 memes to cover the postings for Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. I began writing the articles also and started looking for memes. She asked for my email address so she can add me on WordPress and Facebook.