🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is it better to dispute or issue refund?
Page options
jnassiri
Community Member

Is it better to dispute or issue refund?

My question: is it better to dispute a refund request that is ungrounded, or just issue the refund? Worst case for the dispute is that if I win and they give me a one-star review. Worst case for the refund is that my Job Success goes from 100% to less than that. Which is more important?

I was hired to prepare an executive summary for a cannabis company. I have extensive experience in this field - I've raised $3M+ in venture capital, and helped countless other companies do the same. The client was non-responsive and repeatedly apologized for being unavailable. After I delivered the final document, they requested a refund without explanation, and have been completely unresponsive.

It's for $350, so not a lot of money, but on principle I would dispute. However, I'm most interested in keeping my profile appealing and wondering whether it's better to take the hit on star rating or job success rate.

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kat303
Community Member

You are top rated. If you get a negative review, you can use your top rated perk to remove both the public and private feedback. If you issue a refund, that would show as a job without payment and that would affect your JSS. 

If your work was shoddy, incomplete, not up to par, half done or full of errors and unnecessary content, then I would definitely say that you should issue a refund. Otherwise, I see No benefit in issuing a refund, If you refund your earnings, then you'll be without payment, not to mention the time and effort you put into this job. 

IMO you should dispute that refund request. 

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
m_sharman
Community Member

Hi Justin,