🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is it normal to get a full-time job offer on ...
Page options
robcortex
Community Member

Is it normal to get a full-time job offer on Upwork?

I've been looking for freelance data entry clerk jobs on Upwork, but I'm very new to it all.

On one of them, I seemed to have lucked out and gotten a job offer from**Edited for community guidelines**. They even sent me an official letter and everything to sign, and now I'm just waiting for them to process sending me some check to buy some equipment to work on.

So at first I thought, "Oh lucky me!" But out of curiosity and to pass time while working with them, I decided to try out for some one-off projects to help my income while waiting for the job to start.

As luck would have it, I found yet another job from an employer who hasn't offered me much info about them, and they TOO, want me to actually work for them and accept a check so I can buy the equipment thye need to do their work.

So now I'm suspicious, and really, I just want to find some remote work.

Does anyone know much about this?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Justin,

Beware of any client who wants to send you a check for equipment. Freelancers are supposed to have the appropriate equipment, software, etc., to do the work they are applying for. Also, consider it a red flag whenever a potential client asks to correspond with you off the platform (not allowed unless there is a contract in place). I just had a clash with a client who sent me an invitation to apply and wanted me to send them an email for "further correspondence." They replied by saying they have "their own protocol." I told them their protocol violates Upwork rules and can get freelancers booted off the platform...then I cut and pasted their responses to me in a  "flag as inappropriate" message to Upwork.