🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is it typical for a client to send a link to ...
Page options
designsbybreann
Community Member

Is it typical for a client to send a link to be clicked on for further hiring process?

Hello fellow freelancers,

I am fairly new to upwork. I have just received my first response to a proposal I sent out. The proposal said that I am shortlisted for the final selection process. They sent me a project invite link. I am wondering if this is a typical process. Should I click on the link or is it a scam? Have you had any experience with this type of response?

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
tlbp
Community Member

Is the link to a page within the Upwork website? If not, it is likely a scam. 

View solution in original post

Breann:
If a real client wants to hire you, he hires you.

He doesn't send you to a link on another site.

If I need to hire you to actually do work on another site, then I hire you first, and then I send you there to do your work.

If somebody sends you to that link, it is almost certainly part of a "scheme," not a real job.

If you are an EXPERIENCED Upwork freelancer, you will be able to understand exactly what is going on and you will be able to work with an INEXPERIENCED CLIENT who is making a mistake in their onboarding process. But if you're new to Upwork... just forget about this.

re: "In this case, how do I handle the response from here so that it doesnt effect me as a freelancer? I dont want to be seen as someone who didnt respond to a client."

There is really nothing you need to worry about at this point. Nothing about this can affect your JSS. If you received this invitation from out of the blue, all you need to do is clickon "decline" and your "freelancer responsiveness score" will remain at 100%.

You are not obligated to continue engaging with someone in the message rooms. If you don't want to respond, just don't.