cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is there anyway to Alert Freelancers to Scum Bag Clients

Ace Contributor
Pat P Member Since: Nov 26, 2013
1 of 12
I'm still pretty new to oDesk, but I used to work for ad agencies so I have dealt with scum bag clients before and I think I have managed to do free work yet another one—which I know is my fault but I would like to alert others to this guy. I took on a project yesterday to do a banner ad. They said they were going to hire a few people (they interviewed 7 out of the 8 that applied) and pick a few people to design and see which they liked best. Already seemed odd, but I liked the project and I thought I'd do well so I said yes, I'd like to still do the job. I did not have a contract so I sent an email asking where they were with their hiring process and they promptly responded saying they would hire me but couldn't at the moment, but I could start the work and they promised to pay. I said no, I could not start work without a contract. A few minutes later I had a contract. Again, seemed odd because they told me they could not hire at the moment. I did the project then got an email this morning saying they did not like the work and it was not what they wanted. Instantly thought "sh*t I have to refund or I'll get a bad review" Then it hit me. They hired multiple people for this project and wanted to see which they liked best, then write everyone else saying they hated the work in order to scare them into a refund. I am getting sick of these scum bag clients on here and I want to alert everyone to this client. And the fact that only 8 people applied to this job tells me other people thought something was up since it was an hourly job at $$ experience and those always seem to get huge responses. So is there a way to alert other freelancers as to who to stay away from on here?
Kristin H Member Since: Jan 7, 2014
2 of 12