🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Re: Is this a scam
Page options
meng_ying
Community Member

Is this a scam

I am new to Upwork. Recently I received a message from a hiring manager that I am selected for an interview and she gave me instructions on how to set up the interview on Hangouts. The client is new to Upwork (2020) and only has this one job posted. Their payment method is not verified on Upwork. I've completed the interview on Hangouts with a manager from this company, and he told me that they will send me an offer letter soon. I got suspicious because the manager asked me to add him again on a different Hangout account (becuase he couldn't send out more messages on the old one) and that I couldn't find his name on LinkedIn or Google. Is there a way to check if this job is valid or a scam?

18 REPLIES 18
prestonhunter
Community Member

Google Hangouts invite = scam

And everything else you describe (hiring manager, offer letter, etc.) are all part of the most common scam that we see on Upwork. Use the "Flag as inappropriate" link button in top right hand corner of job posting. Select "Looks fake" option. Copy your post from this thread and paste it into the text box.

Upwork will take the job down.

Thanks for your reply. What is the most common method for interviews on Upwork? (If Hangouts and Skype interviews are scams). 

AveryO
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi Tiffany, 

I cannot confirm that all Google Hangouts and Skype interviews are scams. On my very first freelancing gig, I was interviewed through Google Hangouts.

Just the same, I highly recommend that you read up the "Safety First!" section of the freelancer resources we have compiled, and these tips for avoiding questionable jobs for more information about working safely through Upwork. Hopefully, this helps you identify red flags on job posts, and interviews in the future.