🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is this a scam
Page options
89b1846c
Community Member

Is this a scam

I've got a job from Upwork, but when I noticed, the job was deleted, but there was a email said that I've got the job and I have to connect with client via Telegram, he/she gave me a link to the website "**Edited for Community Guidelines**

Here's some picture i've taken.

I'm thinking it's my first time doing I just did it this, I have nothing to lose, so I tried. Please let me know if i was scammed.

Sorry for my bad English, I'm not very good at E 😄

Thanks again.

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

**Edited for Community Guidelines**

ACCEPTED SOLUTION
abu_ansarul-mush
Community Member

Based on the information you provided, it is possible that this could be a scam. Here are some reasons why:

1. The job was deleted: If the job was deleted from Upwork, it is possible that it was a fraudulent job post that was taken down by Upwork. Scammers often use fake job posts to lure people into their schemes.
  2. Connecting via Telegram: Scammers often ask people to communicate with them outside of the platform where the job was posted. This is a red flag because it makes it harder for the platform to track and monitor the communication.
  3. Link to a suspicious website: The website "**Edited for Community Guidelines**" is not a well-known or established website, which could be a sign that it is a fake or fraudulent website.
  4. Request for personal information: Scammers often ask for personal information, such as your bank account or credit card details, which they can use to steal your money or identity.

In general, it is important to be cautious when accepting job offers online, especially if they seem too good to be true or if they involve communication outside of the platform. You should also be wary of requests for personal information or payments. If you suspect that you have been scammed, you should report it to Upwork and your local authorities.