cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this a scam?

Highlighted
Brendan W Member Since: Oct 15, 2014
1 of 20
Hey everybody, This is my first time using Odesk, and I am wary of whether this job posting is a scam or not. They have no history or verified payment (they just opened an account on Oct. 15th). It is an hourly paid base job. I was emailed maybe a couple of hours after submitting my application. They told me that I needed to create a Yahoo Instant Messenger account to contact the Hiring Manager. They said I have an interview 9AM this Thursday and to contact him if I need to reschedule. Thanks in advance for any help!
Highlighted
2 of 20
Note: This is a more or less simple looking data entry job.
Highlighted
Community Guru
David G Member Since: Oct 6, 2011
3 of 20
Some people claim that anytime a client wants to use Yahoo Messenger, it's a scam, but I'm not sure if everyone who wants to use it is going to scam you. I've used Skype a number of times for interviews, even with people whose payment is not verified, but never Yahoo Messanger. You really don't have enough information to go on to decide if it's a scam. If you are still interested in the job and you have the time, then have the interview. After that, you might have a better idea of whether it's a scam. If they want you to buy something and then they'll reimburse you, it's probably a scam(even if they send you the check first). If they want to work off oDesk, it's probably a scam. Just be careful, use some common sense and you should be fine.
Highlighted
4 of 20
Great, thank you. I have the interview soon and I will check back with some more details!
Highlighted
Community Guru
Gillian Michele N Member Since: Mar 15, 2012
5 of 20