🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is this allowed? Employers to ask for sample ...
Page options
vespinozaluna
Community Member

Is this allowed? Employers to ask for sample work assignments from freelancers as part of interview?

Hello all! 

I have been a freelancer on UpWork since 2017. I recently applied for a freelance opportunity in which the employer seeking to fill the role required a few assignements as part of the interview. Is this allowed by UpWork? 

1 REPLY 1
prestonhunter
Community Member

re: "Is this allowed? Employers to ask for sample work assignments from freelancers as part of interview?"

It is not allowed.

re: " I recently applied for a freelance opportunity in which the employer seeking to fill the role required a few assignements as part of the interview. Is this allowed by Upwork?"

It is a violation of Upwork ToS for a client to ask a freelancer to work for free.

But: I believe there are TWO possibilities here.

Not just one. The possibilities are:

a) This client is very new to using Upwork and does not understand all of the rules. This client is not necessarily a bad person. She simply made a mistake.

b) This client knows full well that she is doing something wrong. She doesn't care. She is trying to trick freelancers into working for her for free.

As a freelancer, how can you know for sure which type of client you are dealing with (a or be)?

Answer: You can't know for certain.

The good thing is:
It doesn't matter.

As a freelancer, I can respond the SAME WAY for either type of client.

"Jamie:

Yes, I could do those tasks. I understand that these may be preliminary to starting the main work. Would you like to create an hourly contract for me to do this work? Or would you prefer to create a fixed-price contract for $50?"

The client will then do one of two things:
The client WILL create a contract to pay you for this work, or the client will NOT create a contract.