🐈
» Forums » Freelancers » Is this legit?
Page options
333859aa
Community Member

Is this legit?

Hey guys. I wan to ask a question about a job. This job is offering a translation project. they use telegram to inform my work. But they say that the payment is going to be received via bank transfer and not via upworks. Is this legit?

9 REPLIES 9
fe9b8d82
Community Member

No, it's a scam.  Any time a "client" asks you to take communication off of Upwork before a contract is in place, and especially when they ask you to accept payment off of Upwork, it's a scam.  Don't break the terms of service.  Read the academy links and learn how to be a freelancer before you get taken advantage of.

So what should i do to make this legit? Should i insist that they proceed the payment through upworks? 

im sorry in advance because im a newbie in this freelance world

You can't make it legit. There is no paying job. It's a SCAM.

daee0192
Community Member

is not legit, probably a scam, if you dont know anything about them there is no reason for you to trust them on it, they should be paying you through upwork only 

Should i insist them to pay through upworks? Im sorry im a newbie in this freelance world

yofazza
Community Member

That's a scam, you should move along to not waste any more time.

Another thread posted today

NikolaS

Hi Handita Astama,

I would like to confirm as others mentioned on this thread. Sharing contact information before a contract has started is against Upwork's Terms of Service and that all communications prior to the contract starting must take place on Upwork.

I also encourage you to let us know if a TOS violation has happened by using the Flag as Inappropriate option throughout the platform. You can learn more about user reporting here.