Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: Is this what oDesk was like?

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
Jonathan David S Member Since: Sep 18, 2015
1 of 12

I've been using Elance for 5 years, but I never ventured over to oDesk.

I'm curious, is Upwork basically the same thing as what oDesk used to be? I flipped through at least 10 pages of job posts and didn't find one even remotely reasonable budget.

I'm trying to decide if I want to continue using the Upwork-Elance platform after Elance closes down, and unless things change, they're going to lose me as a customer.

This is ridiculous. 99.9% of these budgets don't even pay the equivalent of minimum wage. How do you make any money on Upwork? This is very discouraging.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
2 of 12

Let's be honest though. A quick look at Elance and it looks like a bunch of junk too. You get those 2-3 jobs a day if you're lucky to bid on.

It's really the same deal. The one issue I have is the hourly vs flat rate and hourly seems more popular here. My hourly rate is always higher than everyone else's in my area, and people always complain. With flat rate, I just say "$x for y work" and it's usually OK. But it seems there is an increase in flat rate jobs since I got here, so that's good. I hope it continues.

Highlighted
Ace Contributor
3 of 12

Jennifer,

I respectfully disagree. Sure, there are plenty of ridiculously cheap buyers over at Elance. But it's pretty easy to find a decent gig. There are quite a few quality gigs in the writing category on Elance daily. Some days more than others, of course.

Highlighted
Community Guru
Jennifer M Member Since: May 17, 2015
4 of 12