cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Job Cancellations and the Job Success Score

christineemclean
Christine M Member Since: Aug 16, 2017
1 of 5

Jobs can be cancelled for various reasons. I have had to cancel 4 jobs over the past month. The first job I had to cancel because the client was unresponsive and hadn't provided me with all of the necessary information. I had to cancel the others primarily due to a misunderstanding between myself and the clients about the job. WE had discussions prior to the offers being sent and I thought everything was fine. However, that ended up not being the case.

I was a Top Rated Freelancer, but due to these cancellations I immediately lost that status. I fervently believe that job cancellations shouldn't be a part of the metrics for determining Top Rated status. I am an active member of the UpWork community and I work very hard. It is a serious blight to my ability to succeed when I'm not on the Top Rated program. Clients have a requirement of a 90 percent JSS as a part of their requirements for jobs. It's grossly unfair to be so harshly judged by UpWork in order to determine the JSS. 

m_njari
Community Guru
MERCY N Member Since: May 6, 2015
2 of 5

Christine M:

'Clients have a requirement of a 90 percent JSS as a part of their requirements for jobs...'

Sorry about your recent bad experiences. The good bit is you still can clinch good jobs if other clients have given you impressive feedback there before.

Do not be deterred from applying for a job just because it stipulates 90% JSS. There's a way you can frame your cover letter until the client forgets about the JSS factor. 

petra_r
Community Guru
Petra R Member Since: Aug 3, 2011
3 of 5

@Christine M wrote: